Resolution 2017

It’s March and finally… It’s time for me to list down my aims for the year (and work towards it step by step).wp-1489246913895.jpg

1) Gain a skill outside of internship

I will be involve in a year long internship in September this year. My previous intern company is superb, and I have learned so much there. Internship drains me mentally. A sedentary job spells bad news for the body’s well-being.  I really hope I am able to sustain an exercise regime during this period.

Besides desperately trimming fats of me, I also aim to set aside just 3 hrs per week to cultivate a set of new skills/try out something new. I am definitely hooked onto trying out new stuff – Picking up Deutsch and hiking are enjoyable, while some activities are less interesting for me.

2) Read (at least) 3 non-academic related books

Currently switching between 3 books now, two poetry books from Najwa Zebian (I really enjoyed Mind Platter) and “The Art of Thinking clearly” by Rolf Dobelli. Special thanks to K for getting me the Najwa Collection(: The above mentioned books shall not be counted in amount of books to clear this year though. I am hoping to read works by Haruki Murakami this year, and strike off another item from the to-do list.

3) Up my confidence

I always have issues on maintaining eye contact when conversing or presenting. Ever since JH pointed it out last year, I have been making conscious effort to sustain eye contact when conversing. It’s high time to address this issue, and hopefully resolve this before turning 23 years old this year!

4) Be a better person

The above three points are part of this goal too, but I listed them based on objective goals. It’s real hard to determine whether I am able to clear this resolution because… honestly the comparison is highly subjective. I am glad to be surrounded by people who inspires me to be a better person.

Below is a list of aspiration Jasmine hopes to be; inspired by her friends:

I wish to free myself and others from being too judgmental and superficial.  -M.T.

I aspire to be a better listener and observer. -K.T.

I want to spread joy and treat people genuinely. -M.K.

When you help others, you help yourself too. Care selflessly and generously. -J.H. and T.B.

 

 

Leave a comment